University of Stirling, Health Sciences

Home » PhD » Is my PhD my midlife crisis? Fiona Dobbie writes in THE

Is my PhD my midlife crisis? Fiona Dobbie writes in THE

FionaDobbie_afCZNbo6_400x400Fiona Dobbie, Research Fellow in the Institute of Social Marketing has blogged in the Times Higher Education:

“I turned 40 this year, and rather than indulge in the clichéd symptoms of a mid-life crisis (getting a tattoo, having an affair, Botox) I am in my second year of a part-time PhD.

“It’s not that my life isn’t fulfilling or challenging enough. I am typical of my age: happily married with an energetic 6-year-old, fortunate to have friends and family and a full-time job as a university research fellow. So why am I doing a part-time PhD?”

Click here for the full article, published 12 March 2017.

 

Leave a Reply

