University of Stirling, Health Sciences

Home » International » Witnessing poverty and severe illness motivated me to nurse

Witnessing poverty and severe illness motivated me to nurse

CaitlinUrquhart2I have always enjoyed helping people, in every aspect of life therefore nursing is something I have always considered. However it wasn’t till after my travels to South Africa – witnessing poverty and severe illness – that it was made clear to me that I wanted to strive and work to the best of my ability to become a successful, compassionate nurse.

I went out to South Africa with a charity called GAGA (Goodwill And Growth for Africa) volunteering constructing a vegetable garden in a pre-school. Here we worked as a team to plan and put it all together – this was not as easy as we had first thought. With solid, dry ground and just the basic tools we did our best. But we worked together and finished it within our 2 week visit. We involved the children who attended the school along with some of the teachers, allowing them to learn new skills.

GAGA Logo 2 - Copy [28461]We also had the opportunity to visit other projects that the charity were funding which was fantastic. We went to see another pre-school, a medical centre and a home/family that looked after and cared for people of all ages that suffered from disabilities, illness or children who were left abandoned by their parents. Such amazing work that goes on in this country and they are so grateful for the very little they have.

SAGROUPPICcropThese projects were all difficult things to see, the poverty that they live in and put up with on a daily basis is unreal. People don’t understand until they witness this first hand. What a massive eye-opener this trip was, it has showed me that I want to make a difference and help in anyway I can. I feel that by becoming a nurse this would be possible. I would love to go back and do more volunteering in this country!

Caitlin Urquhart, 1st year Student Nurse, University of Stirling
19 June 2016

Leave a Reply

