University of Stirling, Health Sciences

Home » Communication » #HelloMyNameIs Krissy and I’m a student nurse

#HelloMyNameIs Krissy and I’m a student nurse

Photo of Krissy Scott

Krissy Scott

#HelloMyNameIs Krissy Scott and I am a 3rd year mental health nursing student, here at Stirling University.  As final year students, we were recently invited to write an article for this blog. Due to time commitments, I found myself skipping over the email. As the old saying goes, so much to do, so little time. However, within hours I found myself re-reading the email and replying to the school. There was one topic which I felt especially passionate about, and that I would not mind sparing a couple of hours for: communication in healthcare.

As we all know, excellent communication by healthcare staff is fundamental to effective, patient-centred care. We also know that the importance of good communication in healthcare is comprehensively documented upon, at a local, national and policy level. However, as healthcare staff, do we always communicate effectively with the patients that we care for? For example, do we always introduce ourselves? Kate Granger would suggest not.

Picture of Hello My Name Is logoYou may have heard of Kate. Kate is a 33 year old geriatrician from Yorkshire, who in 2011 was diagnosed with incurable cancer. It was only on becoming a patient did Kate realise, that some of the most basic, but important aspects of healthcare – such as communication and compassion – were being routinely forgotten by healthcare staff. With this in mind, Kate embarked upon a social media campaign; to remind staff about the importance of going ‘back to basics’. Kate’s media campaign is called ‘Hello. My name is’ and here is a five minute YouTube clip about it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eHu6nKsgCbY&feature=player_embedded.

I wanted to share Kate’s story, not just as part of Kate’s legacy, but also to remind those of us who work clinically, of our individual capacity to make a significant difference in the lives of our patients. It really can be as simple as introducing ourselves well. As Brian the porter in the clip demonstrates, it is not our staffing grade that patients will necessarily remember, it is the level of communication, courtesy and compassion that we displayed.

On a small but personal level, I can identify with Kate’s simple desire to have healthcare staff communicate effectively. A number of years ago, I was aghast when a clinician, whom I had only just met, failed to introduce himself before delivering the news that a family member ‘clearly had autism’. The doctor then swiftly left the room. I never did find out his name but I have never forgotten how he made me feel that day.

Perhaps this is one of the reasons that Kate’s campaign has had such a profound impact upon me, and why I am almost evangelical about it. I believe it serves as a timely reminder to us all, that as healthcare professionals, we are in a privileged position with regards to our patients, and that one way or another; we will impact upon them. We should be mindful therefore to only make our impact a positive one.

Kate’s campaign has empowered me to be a more effective communicator in practice. In my last placement, I took the opportunity to share Kate’s story in a staff education session. Afterwards, a Clinical Nurse Manager who was present volunteered to inform Forth Valley’s operational division of Kate’s campaign. I have since learned that Forth Valley run a similar campaign called ‘First Impressions’.

Perhaps there is a way that you can help Kate to further her crucial ‘back to basics’ campaign?

Krissy Scott, 4 March 2015

2 Comments

  1. Michelle Beattie says:

    Hi Krissy
    Thanks for sharing Kate’s message and the impact this has had upon your practice. To share your story wider you might want to consider submitting your story to NHS Change Day – celebrated a week today 11th March 2015 http://changeday.nhs.uk/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Krissy says:

    Thank you very much Michelle for letting me know about the NHS Change Day. I will make contact with them now, as I consider every opportunity to share Kate’s important campaign as a welcome one. Kindest, Krissy

    Like

Leave a Reply

